81 Tests, 2019 Articles
and counting ...

Ashok Chakra For Major Varadrajan

AUGUST 14, 2014

  submit to reddit   Delicious   Digg   LinkedIn  

Ashok Chakra For Major Varadrajan

 Ashok Chakra For Major Varadrajan

The Ashoka Chakra will be conferred on Major Mukund Varadarajan posthumously. The 44th Rashtriya Rifles batallion officer had laid down his life in a gun battle after killing three Hizbul Mujahideen militants in J & K this year. President Pranab Mukherjee has approved 55 gallantry awards, including 12 Shaurya Chakras, 39 Sena Medals, one Nau Sena Medal and two Vayu Sena Medals on the eve of the 68th Independence Day.

During the operation, Varadarajan displayed exemplary leadership, courage, planning and swift action which culminated in the elimination of three top ranked Hizbul terrorists.

The Shaurya Chakras awardees are Major Abhishek Kumar, Major Manohar Singh Bhati, Major Satnam Singh, Major Vishal Singh Raghav, Subedar Prakash Chand (posthumous), Naik Ansaigra Basumatary, Lance Naik Bharat Kumar Chhetri, Sepoy Vikram (posthumous) and Rifleman Prem Bahadur Roka Magar.


The Indian Navy personnel awarded the Shaurya Chakra are Lieutenant Commander Manoranjan Kumar (posthumous) and Lieutenant Commander Kapish Singh Muwal (posthumous). Wing Commander Huvey Upadhyaya of the Indian Air Force will also be conferred with the Shaurya Chakra. The Nao Sena Medal will be conferred upon Commander Gosavi Kaustubh Vijay Kumar while Wing Commander Abhyankar Aniket Santosh and Wing Commander Rahul Shukla are to be given the Vayu Sena Medal.

The president has also awarded 26 Mention-in-Despatches to army personnel for their contributions in different operations like 'Operation Rakshak',  'Operation Meghdoot', 'Operation Rhino' and 'Operation Hifazat'.


Tell Us About gkmine.com

We Listen ...

Fortnightly Contest

... WIN Exciting Prizes ...

item-pointer Coming Soon ...

... Previous Winners ...