81 Tests, 2019 Articles
and counting ...

Na Mo Third -Time Lucky; BJP Sweeps Guj With 117 Leads

DECEMBER 20, 2012

  submit to reddit   Delicious   Digg   LinkedIn  



It’s Narendra Modi all the way ! Na Mo will be the Chief Minister of Gujarat for a third straight term as he is set to cross his 2007 tally of 117 seats. Seat projections based on leads this afternoon show that he is likely to end the day at 122 seats, five more than last time and enough to make him a third-time lucky. And in consonance, he has won his own Maninagar constituency by a whopping 86,373 votes, defeating the political debutante Shweta Bhatt, the wife of Sanjiv Bhatt, the senior policeman who had gone against Mr Modi in Gujarat riots cases.




He needs only 92 of the 182 seats in the state to get his third term. The celebrations have already begun at the party office in Ahmedabad, where his supporters are clear where he is headed next. Many in the BJP have been seeking a bigger role for him on the national stage, and he is being being projected as the Prime Minister in the 2014 general elections. But Mr Modi is not acceptable to allied parties like the Janata Dal (United).) But such a big win in Gujarat would give Mr Modi much bargaining power also within the BJP, where, in an internal power struggle, senior leaders are wary of Mr Modi's hold in his state.






The Congress had fielded three MPS, but they all lost. Kunvarji Bavalia, MP from Rajkot, Somabhai G Patel, MP from Surendranagar, and Vitthal Radadia - who recently made news for brandishing a gun at a toll booth - lost their constituencies.






Even though former CM Keshubhai Patel won, his Gujarat Parivartan Party (GPP) failed to make a dent as the GPP's Gordhan Zadafia lost his constituency. The Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly, Shaktisinh Gohil of the Congress lost from Bhavnagar rural constituency as he was defeated by Purshottam Solanki of BJP.



Tell Us About gkmine.com

We Listen ...

Fortnightly Contest

... WIN Exciting Prizes ...

item-pointer Coming Soon ...

... Previous Winners ...