81 Tests, 2019 Articles
and counting ...

Off-Beat Movies Sweep National Film Awards

MARCH 18, 2013

  submit to reddit   Delicious   Digg   LinkedIn  



At the 60th National Film Awards, Tigmanshu Dhulia's 'Paan Singh Tomar', the gritty tale of a national athlete-turned-outlaw, has been declared the best movie. Its lead actor Irrfan Khan has shared the best actor trophy with Vikram Gokhale for his Marathi film 'Anumati'.



The delightful 'Vicky Donor' directed by Shoojit Sircar won the award for the Best Popular movie for wholesome entertainment. Director Sujoy Ghosh has been declared the best original screenplay writer for his highly acclaimed ‘Kahaani' while 'Oh My God' won the best adapted screenplay for Bhavesh Mandalia and Umesh Shukhla.


The award for the Best Supporting Actor has gone to Annu Kapur for portraying an infertility specialist in Vicky Donor. The Best Supporting Actress was shared by Dolly Ahluwalia for playing the domineering mother of Vicky and Kalpana for the film Thanichalla Njan (Malyalam).


Bedabrata Pain's debut Hindi film 'Chittagong', shared the Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film with Siddhartha Siva's Malayalam '101 Chodiyangal'.




'Bolo Na' from 'Chittagong' has won the best lyrics trophy for Prasoon Joshi and best male playback singer for Shankar Mahadevan. 'Thanichalla Njan' won the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Movie on National Integration. The Hindi film 'Dekh Indian Circus' is the Best Children's Film while Kamal Haasan's controversial 'Vishawaroopam' has bagged the Best Production Design and the Best Choreography awards for Pt. Birju Maharaj.






Best Feature Film

Paan Singh Tomar (Hindi)

Director: Tigmanshu Dhulia


Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Film Of A Director

Chittagong (Hindi)

Director: Bedabrata Pain


101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam)

Director: Siddhartha Siva


Best Popular Film For Wholesome Entertainment

Vicky Donor (Hindi)

Director: Shoojit Sircar


Ustad Hotel (Malayalam)

Director: Anwar Rasheed


Nargis Dutt Award For Best Feature Film On National Integration

Thanichallanjan (Malayalam)

Director: Babu Thiruvalla


Best Children's Film

Dekh Indian Circus (Hindi)

Director: Mangesh Hadawale


Best Direction

Dhag (Marathi)



Best Actor

Paan Singh Tomar (Hindi)

Irrfan Khan


Anumati (Marathi)


Vikram Gokhale

Best Actress

Dhag (Marathi)


Usha Jadhav

Best Supporting Actor

Vicky Donor 


Annu Kapoor

Best Supporting Actress

Vicky Donor 


Dolly Ahluwalia

Thanichalla Njan (Malayalam)



Best Child Artist

Dekh Indian Circus (Hindi)


Virendra Pratap

101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam)



Best Male Playback Singer

Chittagong (Hindi)


Shankar Mahadevan for the song Bolo Na

Best Female Playback Singer

Samhita (Marathi)

Aarti Anklekar Tikekar for the song Palakein Naa Moondon

Screenplay Writer (Original)

Kahaani (Hindi)


Sujoy Ghosh

Screenplay Writer (Adapted):

Oh My God (Hindi)

Bhavesh Mandalia and Umesh Shukla


Best Lyrics

Chittagong (Hindi)


Prasoon Joshi for song Bolo Na

Special Jury Awards


Chitrangada (Bengali)


Rituparno Ghosh

Kahaani (Hindi)


Nawazuddin Siddiqui

Gangs of Wasseypur (Hindi)


Nawazuddin Siddiqui

Dekh Indian Circus (Hindi)


Nawazuddin Siddiqui

Talaash (Hindi)


Nawazuddin Siddiqui

Best Choreography

Vishwaroopam (Tamil)

Pandit Birju Maharaj



Tell Us About gkmine.com

We Listen ...

Fortnightly Contest

... WIN Exciting Prizes ...

item-pointer Coming Soon ...

... Previous Winners ...